Today, it is very common to have people from two different generations mix in the same workplace. Are there more advantages or disadvantages to this situation?

It is quite common nowadays to have various individuals from different groups of age working at the same place. While there are some disadvantages to this situation, the advantages outweigh them. One of the drawbacks of employees from different generations being in the same workplace is discomfort. For example, the junior is more likely to feel anxious and stressed about making any mistakes or behaving incorrectly in the presence of a senior employee. Therefore, this might generate a negative impact on the working place as the new workers cannot be productive in an efficient way. However, one potential benefit of working in the same workplace is exchanging their experiences. To elaborate, the senior staff might have a positive effect on enhancing the new employees ' performance by sharing with them their past knowledge and experiences. For instance, an experienced employee can guide the new hire during his first month. Also, the older employees are available if the new employee needs any assistance. In addition, the younger staff posess technology proficiency whereas the older generation might lack it, and thus they can instruct the older generation about it. As a result, this will boost the efficiency of the work. Moreover, there is a second benefit of this situation which is creating a disciplined environment. To illustrate this point, the younger generation will perform their tasks diligently because they would like to have a good impression on the older generation. This means that they will submit their tasks before the deadline and arrive on time. In conclusion, the benefits of employees of different ages working in the same workplace are more than the disadvantages. This is because working together offers to exchange experiences and to form a disciplined workplace.