For a long time art has been considered an essential part of all cultures in the world. However, nowadays people’s values have changed, and we tend to consider science, technology and business more important than arts. What do you think are the causes of this? What can be done to draw people’s attention to art?

While art has represented an invaluable aspect of every culture for centuries, other subjects such as science, technology and business are now considered more relevant. This essay will explain the reasons behind this phenomenon and illustrate some solutions to face it. There is no denying that the last century has neglected humanistic branches in favour of scientific and economic ones, and in my opinion this may be firstly explained by the desire to ameliorate people’s condition and well-being. For example, the willingness to overcome infectious diseases that once would have killed millions of people, as well as to better understand those conditions which still cause physical suffering has led to real breakthroughs in the field of medicine, biotechnology and pharmaceutical. Moreover, the enormous environmental question has inevitably caused the development in the field of green engineering and sustainable industry. If art has not been able to react to these threatening and evident problems, it should also be mentioned that culture is not as profitable as science. Thus, it seems more pragmatic and more prosperous to concentrate on technology and business than on art. On the other hand, paintings, sculptures, and other forms of art are the mirror of culture, society, and history of the period in which they are crafted. Our cultural heritage is the witness for future generations to better understand what the whole of humanity has faced during a certain temporal interval. For those reasons, we should reconcile with art, perhaps combining it with modern technology. For instance, to encourage younger generations, divulgation of artistic masterpieces, expositions, and guided tours, might be performed through social media channels. Influencers might be depicted during cultural visits, to drum up the importance of the humanistic and the creative side. In addition, TV programs or series should be realized to foster the acknowledgement of culture, even among younger children. To sum up, the diffusion of art means diffusing education, creativity and instruction, fundamental and complementary aspects needed for the construction of a better future. In conclusion, modern society must deal with numerous practical issues, and art seems to look at the past rather than facing the future. However, art is a synonym for education and history, and even these factors are of paramount importance when it comes to building long-term plans for a better future.