Many people have jobs that involve working shifts (i.e. working at night). What are some of the problems that shift workers might face? What can be done to solve them?

There is no denying that working shifts might be harder than other regular jobs. This essay is intended to analyze the several drawbacks this category has to face daily, as well as to suggest some solutions to reduce the burden on workers. Firstly, there are numerous issues when considering working shifts. In fact, if it is not always pleasant to work, it is much less enjoyable when it is due during nights, bank holidays or weekends. While ordinary employees have the chance to spend festive moments with friends and relatives, healthcare workers, to give an example, are going to the hospital. Year after year, these missed precious moments contribute to a potential burn-out. Moreover, it has been demonstrated that working at night alters the circadian rhythm, which has negative consequences on the physical and psychological sphere. To conclude, these are just a few of the innumerable concerns shift workers have to deal with. On the other hand, there are different solutions to at least sweeten shift- workers ' workers conditions. For instance, an economic incentive should be given to them, especially when considering weekends and bank holidays. In addition, the number of wards should be limited following the guidelines written by the Society of occupational medicine. Finally, extra days off should be guaranteed, in order for workers to spend a proper amount of time with families and friends while they are not sleeping, as well as to profit from daylight to accomplish ordinary tasks. Perhaps, with those suggestions they might cherish their employment a bit more. To conclude, there are countless cons to working during shifts. However, there are luckily a bunch of options, alternatives and ideas to ameliorate the condition of this essential class of workers.