Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects at university in many countries. Why is this? What effects does this have on society?

The selection of science -related modules is currently trending downward. Adolescents are more interested in fields like finance, marketing, IT and so on, rather than courses like microbiology and marine science. People avoid science for a variety of reasons, some of which will be covered in this essay along with the impacts it is having on society. To begin, more young people choose to major in fields associated with economics, accounting, and information technology than in science. Recent changes have been applied to this trend. Due to the COVID situation, working from home and distance learning gained more popularity. Therefore, it would be much easier to teach business-related courses online than science -related ones. To illustrate an example, Sri Lankans were very interested in microbiology, and the milk sector had an immense demand for this. However, the students must participate in practical sessions and field training, while software engineering gives all knowledge and simplifies the instruction online. Additionally, in the past, people who studied science were respected by society and seen to be literate, which is not the case anymore. Engineers are less prominent in the public eye than other career choices such as YouTubers and Tik-Tokers. Apart from recognition, you can make more money than science students in above mentioned professions by working less harder or not at all on your studies. The declining number of science graduates is an alarming situation for everyone. The world we live in was constructed with the contribution of science, and now, because of climate change, is the perfect time for science to help us solve this issue. Because fewer scientific students equal fewer innovations in technology, the quantity of science students will have a direct impact on how quickly and how hard we fight this war against climate change. Furthermore, despite the decrease in population in some scientific disciplines, work is still being done by qualified experts. For instance, in the event of COVID, researchers from around the globe are devotedly working to develop a vaccine. As a result, plenty of vaccinations were being invented at that time. This still does not mean that we shall not face consequences in the longer term regarding the shortage of science experts. In conclusion, youngsters avoid science due to various factors, such as convenience, hard work, respect and so on. Unfortunately, the effects on the community will be apparent through a range of forms soon.