Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

There have been arguments both for and against studying additional courses in higher education over the past few years. Although main programs should be prioritized over other ones, totally focusing on learning them may do more harm than good from my perspective. There are several reasons why certain individuals believe that students should completely focus on the main subjects. First, in order to earn a qualification or a degree, it is mandatory for students to study and pass the main programs at the university. For example, if a business student wants to earn a bachelor's degree in business administration, accounting and finance will certainly be compulsory subjects in which he or she should invest a great amount of time and effort since these programs are intensive and highly difficult for the majority of students. Second, totally concentrating on main courses would help earn higher learning scores on these, which is particularly beneficial to those who intend to work in highly specialized industries. In fact, in order to become an engineer, one will be required to fully comprehend all main subjects about mechanics rather than others. On the other hand, striking a balance between some additional programs and the main ones can offer broad-based benefits for students in today's world. Some soft skills are just as important as main professions when entering the workforce. For instance, such skills as teamwork or collaboration are essential for the majority of workers in the modern world since they would have to communicate their ideas effectively and work with people from various backgrounds in the company. In addition, learning how to manage their time has been of vital importance these days. The very lack of time management skills could give rise to various mental health problems, including burnout and stress, greatly contributing to productivity loss in the workplace. In short, both views appear reasonable to a certain extent. Nevertheless, I believe students should spend a certain amount of time on additional courses if they are looking to up their productivity in their future working lives.