Scientist and the news media are presenting ever more evidence of climate change. Governments cannot be expect to solve this problem. It is the responsibility of individuals to change their lifestyle to prevent further damage. What are your views? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Climate change has become a serious problem in recent years, and this fact has also been revealed by loads of concrete research and professional scientists. Society is divided into two groups of people, arguing about who, individuals or government, should take responsibility for this result. However, in my point of view, government and individuals should take joint responsibility for the issue. Firstly, the government should impose some relevant laws to restrict factories and big companies, which would likely have huge carbon footprints. Putting some fines and punishments is an efficient way to reduce the emission of pollution and the quantity of plastic used. Moreover, the law should not only restrict the company but imply people recycling and buying special trash bags. For example, in Taipei City, citizens are required to buy exclusive trash bags, which are more expensive than a traditional ones, making people willing to reduce the amount of trash. Although the government has huge power to rule people, whether the policy is successful, is all depending on individuals ' behaviour. As an individual, the last thing you should do is underestimate the power you have. Small movements can gradually change the world! As long as there was no demand for plastic utensils, paper lunch boxes, wrapping papers, and plastic bags, there was no supply of these things anymore. Furthermore, the organizations held by the public have the ability to raise people's attention. For example, one of the eco-friendly organizations in Taiwan pressed the council to impose a law, which is forcing every beverage shop in Taiwan to provide a discount to every customer who brings their own cups. In conclusion, both government and individuals play an important role. I believe that cooperation between these two can make a big step in mitigating climate change.