Many people prefer to use public transportation while others say that personal cars are the best mode of transportation. Excessive use of private cars is considered to be the main reason for the traffic jam in many cities and that's why the use of public transportation is encouraged. In your opinion what are the pros and cons of using public transport?

Big cities nowadays are undoubtedly crowded with traffic as a result of the excessive use of personal cars. To reduce this problem, some people prefer to use public transportation while others argue that personal cars are still the best transportation mode. I personally agree with the community who are eager to use public transportation. Therefore, through this essay, I am going to explain the reasons. In a metropolitan area like Jakarta, there is such a chronic traffic jam that also affects bad air quality and causes so many health problems. One of the main sources of pollution is the personal cars that are used by almost 10 million inhabitants a day to commute from a suburban area to the city centre as well as in its internal area. In addition, the government has already enforced public transportation use by providing various modes for example MRT, LRT, KRL, and BRT that are able to accommodate a huge amount of people compared to personal cars. As an illustration, if 10 cars are needed to mobilise 30 people from a certain area, we only need a single bus which has lesser emissions. Otherwise, public transportation still faces so many challenges such as time schedules to meet the community’s demands. Moreover, the interconnection between one mode of transportation to the others still needs to be improved so people are not worried anymore to move freely from one place to another. Time aspect and connectivity are two of many reasons why society still prefers personal cars to public transportation. Hence, urban planners have been developing some solutions for instance transit-oriented development strategy. This idea integrated some stations, parking areas, sidewalks, and other important facilities so people can have better access by using public transportation. From those explanations, I strongly believe that public transportation is the best mode to solve traffic jams as well as eliminate the city’s pollution. However, all related stakeholders need to work together to improve its quality in order to encourage the community to travel using public transportation instead of private cars.