Many young people change their jobs or careers every few years. What are the reasons for this? Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Changing jobs so frequently is always criticized by corporate supervisors or even human resources, since they think such action indicates that a person is disloyal and unstable. In the essay, I will elucidate in more detail its roots and further discuss the advantages and the disadvantages of both aspects. On one hand, the drawbacks of finding new directions are many. First of all, it is detrimental to an individual’s resume, since unstable employees are not favoured by company managers. Obviously, it brings uncertainty to employers, because it is highly possible that candidates may resign in a very short time. As a result, resumes that illustrate instability are usually filtered out. Secondly, such behaviour demonstrates that the interviewees may not be qualified for senior positions, since they are not experienced enough for particular skills. For instance, a salesperson specialized in semiconductors cannot suddenly be capable of selling chemicals. On the other hand, some merits are often mentioned. To begin with, youngster argues that trying different positions would be beneficial to finding a lifelong calling since even adults are unsatisfied with their doings. Moreover, altering career paths may lead to higher pay. Irrefutably, citizens who constantly change companies have stronger bargaining power and are usually paid higher. In conclusion, both sides have a valid statement, nevertheless, the outcomes significantly depend on the region or nation one lives in. For example, in Japan, it is the worst-case scenario for employees to change their companies. Nonetheless, it is a totally different story in Western countries such as the United States or the United Kingdom. Therefore, people are recommended to judge by the culture or environment of one’s workplace.