Government should invest in teaching science subjects rather than other subjects for country development and progress. To what extent do you agree or not agree?

How to allocate the government’s expenditure has long been a highly charged issue. While it is believed that there should be an increase in state funds for imparting science-related knowledge, I would argue that other subjects are of similar significance in the progression of a nation. On the one hand, placing a premium on science subjects like mathematics and physics is conducive to the growth of a nation. It stands to reason that the more researchers or engineers a country has, the greater their contribution to the prosperity of a society. To illustrate, with billions of dollars spent on scientific research and relevant leaching activities, America has accomplished a number of breakthroughs in road networks, biotechnology and space exploration. Therefore, it is safe to conclude that stressing the role of science subjects in the education system would have a far-reaching long-term impact on a nation. On the other hand, I believe that liberal arts education including literature and law has an equally important role to play in the sustainable growth of a nation. It is widely acknowledged that a society characterized by citizens well-cultivated and knowledgeable in literature or arts tends to enjoy a higher moral standard and social stability. Specifically, law-abiding and productive citizens tend to adopt a decent code of conduct and commit fewer crimes, leading to better social security and improved living standards. As an expected outcome, government funding of social sciences would help individuals alter their intrinsic values and do their utmost to become productive members of society. In conclusion, subjects related to social sciences such as literature and law have as much impact and significance on the development and progress of one’s nation and deserve as much government investment as science subjects.