Some people think that the range of technology available to people is increasing the gap between the rich and the poor. Others think it has the opposite effect. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While there is an increasing concern that technological advances increase the gap between the affluent and the poor people, some people argue that technological change narrow this gap. This essay would discuss both perspectives as well as state my opinion for the former one. On the one hand, technology exacerbates between the wealthy and the poor. Technological advancements might lead to job replacements in some current areas. The demand for highly-skill workers in some fields such as artificial intelligence or data analysis increase whilst lower-skilled jobs may see reduced demand. As a result, people who do monotonous and repetitive jobs will lose their jobs and result in income inequalities. Furthermore, the limited access to technology among the disadvantaged hinder them from benefiting technological advancements. Many technological products are prohibitively expensive and only the rich can afford to buy them. On the other hand, proponents of the opposing view contend that technological advancements are reducing income inequality. Technological change enables all individuals, irrespective socioeconomic background, to access education and services with affordable price. Consequently, the poor also have a better chance of landing a high-paid job, leading to increased income and a higher living of standard. In addition, technological advances increase productivity in wide range of fields. This might lead to the demand for job in many industrial zones increase and the poor can improve their income. In conclusion, certain innovations in technology might bridge the gap between the rich and the poor, while certain developments help us to narrow down this gap and make our lives better.