Some think that it is more important for children to engage in outdoor activities instead of playing video games. To what extent to you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that engaging in nature-based activities should be prioritized over playing electronic games. While this perception is somewhat justifiable, I hold the belief that video games can offer children some benefits only if played in moderation. On the one hand, it is understandable why outdoor engagements are good for a child. Firstly, such pursuits provide physical health benefits. For example, a football player can make an improvement in his motor skills as well as his endurance by constantly taking part in soccer matches frequently, making his overall well-being improve. Secondly, being immersed in nature might help children reduce stress. When feeling overwhelmed by constant deadlines, spending time walking in a park can be a good way to calm one’s nerves and regulate emotions, leading to stress alleviation. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I believe parents should allow their children to play games. One reason is that such entertainment can gain some advantages when following an IT career. By spending a portion of their free time on digital games, children might learn valuable skills related to computers such as typing, downloading materials, or installing softwares, giving them an edge if they pursue a technical major in the future. Moreover, gaming experiences might also create a safe and supportive environment for children to make new friends. Take board games as example, it allows many people to play at the same time and often requires good teamwork to win the game. Frequent communication fosters a better understanding of team member’s personalities as well as perspectives, thus creating opportunities for people to get acquainted and become friends. However, it is worth noting that these advantages above can only be attained if we play games in moderation. Sitting in front of digital screens frequently might cause some bad health consequences such as eye strain and addiction or even obesity. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that playing video games does offer some health benefits, I believe that parents should limit the screen time and only allow their children to play in fixed periods.