Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are debates around whether punishing driving offences heavily is the most crucial factor when it comes to reducing traffic accidents. In my opinion, while strict punishments can deter some of the offenders, I think other measures are more crucial in road safety. On the one hand, it is argued that the government should make those who break the traffic rules pay for their deeds. Examples of strict measure to be taken are fining them a large amount of money, sending them to jail for a short period of confinement, and making them do voluntary work in the community compulsorily. If the government carried out such measures, some of the driving offenders would have to think twice before they take careless actions. Nevertheless, others believe that there will be limited effects if strict punishments are conducted solely. They hold the viewpoint that more effective measures should be taken. The root of the issue of road safety lies not only in the traffic law breakers. For example, the traffic lights are sometimes set an unreasonable waiting time for drivers to pass the intersection, which leads to a very long queue down the road. As a result, some people violate the traffic regulations simply because they are in an emergency and they cannot afford to wait any longer. Therefore, it would be unfair to force them to pay a considerable amount number of fines. Apart from the design of the traffic lights, some roads that have poor infrastructure also need to be improved. Take the road next to my house as an example, there are no distinct punishments can deter some of the offenders, I think other measures are more crucial in road safety. On the one hand, it is argued that the government should make those who break the traffic rules pay for their deeds. Examples of strict measure to be taken are fining them a large amount of money, sending them to jail for a short period of confinement, and making them do voluntary work in the community compulsorily. If the government carried out such measures, some of the driving offenders would have to think twice before they take careless actions. Nevertheless, others believe that there will be limited effects if strict punishments are conducted solely. They hold the viewpoint that more effective measures should be taken. The root of the issue of road safety lies not only in the traffic law breakers. For example, the traffic lights are sometimes set an unreasonable waiting time for drivers to pass the intersection, which leads to a very long queue down the road. As a result, some people violate the traffic regulations simply because they are in an emergency and they cannot afford to wait any longer. Therefore, it would be unfair to force them to pay a considerable amount number of fines. Apart from the design of the traffic lights, some roads that have poor infrastructure also need to be improved. Take the road next to my house as an example, there are no distinct separation between the vehicles and passengers, resulting in a higher risk in safety. Without clear guidance on the road, cars and people on the street are more likely to collide with each other, causing severe damage to both sides. In conclusion, giving heavy punishment to drivers who deliberately and frequently offend the traffic laws are necessary, but I consider it more important to enhance the design of traffic lights and infrastructure of the current road system.