Nowadays, more and more children play computer games. Why do you think this is the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that there has been an increase in the number of children playing computer games. In my opinion, there are two reasons leading to this trend, and I strongly believe that this phenomenon has detrimental effects on children's mental and physical health. The first reason why more and more children play computer games is that they can find information about these games easily and quickly because of the development of modern technologies, such as the internet and mobile phones. This means that they have access to a variety of computer games from the online store, starting from war games to strategic games. And another cause is that playing computer games can give them a sense of achievement when solving difficult assignments. For example, computer games consist of many challenging tasks which need high problem-solving skills and hand-eye coordination ability. If children can finish it without help from their parents or friends, it would give them a sense of fulfilment. This trend will undoubtedly have negative effects on children. Firstly, children's physical health will be damaged, because children addicted to games are more likely to develop a sedentary lifestyle which increases the risk of high blood pressure and obesity. On the contrary, children are more passionate to do outdoor activities in the past when computer games have not emerged. In addition, offspring may become more aggressive and violent because many game factories tend to add blood and violent content to make their products more attractive. If children are exposed to these contents, they would imitate the actions or scenes they see on the screen. As a result, they may pose a threat to other people's safety. In conclusion, the upwind trend of games can be attributed to the happiness that games can bring to young people, and I firmly hold the idea that they should not play computer games when taking the potential risks that the games may cause.