The best way to motivate employees is to increase their salaries. Do you agree with this statement? Are there any other ways to encourage employees to work more efficiently?

Raising employees ’ salaries is one of the many methods through which companies try to encourage their people to work harder and smarter. I disagree that increasing salaries is the most effective way to enhance employee motivation and that there are other non-monetary incentives which can generate better results. I do not believe that the best method for encouraging staff to perform productively is by raising their pay. Firstly, If the employees ' salary level is high enough, raising it further would not motivate them to enhance their performance. Secondly, If they keep on raising their monetary incentive, there will come a point where it will become uneconomical for them. As an alternative to increasing salaries, there are other ways to motivate the workforce to increase their job productivity that includes non-monetary benefits and annual bonuses. By providing them with club membership, staff and their families will utilize their facilities and this will, in turn, enable them to perform better in their job. Moreover, the more effort employees will make to improve their performance at work the more profit the companies will generate. Hence, employees will receive better annual profit-based bonuses. In conclusion, I believe, that increasing pay is not the best method to motivate employees. Increasing pay will have a negative impact on the employer because at one point it will become uneconomical for them. There are other non-monetary ways through which staff performance can be improved. By providing them with benefits such as club membership and annual profit-based bonuses they will be encouraged to endeavor to their best ability ultimately improving their productivity.