The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

It is widely argued that the growth of the number of factories producing customer products has a negative impact on various aspects of the natural habitat. The essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors behind this negative view before outlining several viable solutions that should be adopted to tackle the mentioned problem. There are two primary reasons why some individuals often consider the production of consumer goods as a cause of many serious issues in the natural habitat. One reason is, it often starts from the origin of products that serve people's daily needs. We can name a lot of goods such as food, drinks, pencils, paper, clothes, or electronics. They are mass-produced to meet human needs, so large firms are needed to resolve this problem. Of course, it is quite difficult to build large-scale factories in the city, on the contrary, they are built in the countryside, leading to many consequences for the surrounding areas. A large number of trees were cut down to give way to new factories, reducing the area of forest cover significantly. In addition, their waste that is not properly treated will harm the soil and water habitat, affecting aquatic or underground ecosystems. Another reason is that some customer merchandise is produced with natural ingredients. For instance, paper is made of wood, and dishes are made of sand. The ensure them to mass production leads to the over-exploitation of these resources, leading to the risk of imbalance in the natural ecosystem. To combat this worrying concern, the following feasible steps should be taken. First and foremost, the unquestionable impacts of production companies on the surrounding areas should be promoted widely through official media. As a result, local residents could be able to be aware of the economic benefits that also affect the environment which manufacturing firms play in their lives, thereby making them change their oppositional or acceptable attitudes towards these companies. Furthermore, governing bodies should enforce strict regulations on these commodities manufacturing industries. For example, they could impose heavy fines on those littering or polluting the local environment to these manufacturing firms, which could protect the local environment from being contaminated by the irresponsible behaviour of these enterprises. In conclusion, there are some underlying motives behind this negative perception towards the industry of consumer products, and it is crucial that the aforementioned measures be implemented to change this oppositional perspective.