Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology . Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that university should only teach subjects like science and technology. Some people think that university should give freedom to student to choose their courses. This essay will discuss both views and present my opinion. If university offer different courses like arts, humanities it will generate lots of artist. Whereas some student will study science and technology and invent new technologies. University should give options to student to choose their course and provide wide range of options to chose from. Not only it will produce artist, performers but also provide platform for creative people. Students who take admission in university are mature enough to understand the employment oppurnities they will have after pursuing their chosen course. For instance in India various specialised universities are set up by government of India like agricultural university, national school of drama and so on. However, if student were provided to study science and technology there is risk of producing too many unemployable technocrats. University teaches only science and technology will generates thousands of graduates who may not be skilled enough to get hired by large tech companies. For instance, in Australia there are specific courses for stem student by some universities but not every student gets placed in tech companies. In conclusion, there will imbalance in economy too if only science and technology is taught in universities. I am of opinion that student should be allowed to study their chosen subjects. Science and technology should not be made compulsory.