Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are competing views on how to reduce criminal activities. For some, it can be lowered by giving longer sentences to prisoners, instead in my opinion there are better options that we can apply to reach that goal. First of all, longer sentences could give people more time to think about what they have done. Of course, for every action there is a consequence, so, it is right to give lifetime sentences to people that committed heavy crimes, but in my view, extending sentences, with the aim to resolve the discussed problem, is not a solution. In other words, those types of sentences will not change anything, people would still commit crimes because the sentence itself is not related to the number of crimes committed. As a consequence, there will be only crowded prisons, specifically, the described will lead to more difficulty to allocate people that committed crimes because there would be no room for them. Take, for example, what is happening in countries, such as The United States, where you can clearly see that the explained practice was implemented and, in spite of solving the problem, it only created new ones. Furthermore, I agree with the fact that we need to find better solutions to solve the current issue. To reduce statistical crime activities, we need to start with the concept of the prison itself. The main goal of prisons is not only to close in a cell dangerous people, but it is to open those doors and help, the once prisoners, return back into society. Instead, in a lot of situations, most prisoners live in inhuman conditions. The fact is that, for instance, people, after prison years, do not have anyone to speak to, to ask for help, because of this aspect they return to doing the only thing they know, and the mentioned is what bought them, the first time, in prison. So the main solution would be to create a community that would help people to establish more connections, after all the years they passed in prison, in order to live a life without committing crimes. In conclusion, making longer sentences, in my opinion, is not going to reduce crime, but it is only going to create more issues, such as crowded prisons. On the contrary, trying to help people to build a life outside of the prisons, could be a better solution to prevent other crimes to happen in the future.