Some school leavers choose to travel or work for a year before going to university. What might be the reasons for this? What are the disadvantages of this practice?

Many fresh graduates take a gap year for travelling or job opportunities before starting their university. This essay will discuss the reasons and drawbacks of taking a gap year. Firstly, some graduates take a year off for travelling because they want a change of environment. By going to a new city, they explore different buildings of cultural significance and interact with people of various cultures. As a result, they develop an appreciation for the diversity in culture and architecture of that city. Secondly, there are a few graduates who look for a job in their gap year as they want to earn and save up that money for college tuition fees. Getting a job will not only make them financially independent but will also boost their self-confidence. Although there are many reasons for students who completed their secondary education to work or travel in their gap year, there are several drawbacks as well. One of them is it can act as a distraction and deter them from opting for further studies. Since some of them may become complacent in their jobs and don’t feel the need to continue their education. Another major disadvantage is that parents may believe that it is a waste of their children’s time and their own money as they have to cater for their children’s travel expenses. Even though the trip may seem very expensive to them but they do it anyways for their children’s happiness. In conclusion, some school leavers travel and work in their gap year due to a change of scenery and also that they can utilize the income that they get from working in paying their university admission fees. But one should also take into account its drawbacks that is it can serve as a distraction for some individuals leading them to a life where they don’t want to further their education. Moreover, parents suffer from the financial burden that it brings with them.