Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are different opinions among people regarding crime and punishment. While fixed punishment can help to avoid some crimes from being committed like paedophilia, I fully believe that the circumstance and motivation of each case must be leaned before giving the sentence since some individuals commit a crime unintentionally. On the one hand, implementing a stable sentence for some heavy crimes like paedophilia will reduce the number of cases. Knowing the consequence of their behaviour elder people can difficulty go to bed with young individuals who are under 18. According to a statistic, published recently by the Italian government, the number of people going to bed with underage people reduced since the implementation of a new heavier punishment. On the other hand, there are some cases in which a father killed unintentionally his son or in an accident a person was killed by a car because this person crossed the road in a wrong place. In such situations, it cannot be given a fixed punishment without learning the circumstance. In another situation where even, a crime is committed intentionally there will be still some issues to be evaluated before giving the final sentence. For example, about 7 years ago, a similar case happened with my neighbour, He was working as a security at an industrial site, and during the night in order to defend himself from criminals who entered the site, he hit them with a piece of iron as a result one of them died. The court gave him a lighter punishment as he was not planned to kill the man beforehand. In conclusion, despite the fact that some people strongly support the idea of implementing a fixed punishment for a crime, I fully believe that the situation and motivation under which a crime is committed must be taken into consideration before giving a punishment.