Nowadays it is easy to apply for and be given a credit card. However, some people experience problems when they are not able to pay their debts back. Do the advantages of credit cards outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern era, while many people recently changed their payment methods to using a credit card, some argue that it causes the issue of unaffordable payments for their debts. From my perspective, instead of some problems with the accumulation of debt, I believe that the advantages of credit cards significantly outweigh their disadvantages. The first advantage of this payment method is that cardholders can gain many benefits offered by banks, such as discount promotions and instalments with low interest. It can be explained by the fact that nowadays most banks try to encourage people to replace paying cash by using their credit cards, and then they give numerous appealing offers to compete with other banks to attract potential customers. For instance, the bank cooperates with popular restaurants and shopping malls to create an interesting discount for customers who use their credit cards to pay for their meals, goods, or services in those restaurants or stores. Another example is that they also provide an unrivalled instalment policy with very low, even 0%, interest rates in order to support clients affording high-priced items or services, such as mobile phones, cars, educational tuition, etc. Another point that can be potentially beneficial for people using this kind of payment is their fraud protection system. The prime reason for this is that this cashless option allows a person to use their bank's money for their payments in advance. Thus, banks are responsible for not only their customers' payments but also for their money. For example, when the system alerts that a customer has just been charged a considerable amount of money, a bank's staff will call this customer to confirm whether they did it or not. Consequently, this customer will be protected from fraudulent crimes, and the bank will avoid any further problems caused by fraudulent transactions. In conclusion, despite the several inconveniences of paying off an unexpected balance by misusing this non-cash method, I personally believe that their advantages like promotions and fraud protection are significantly beneficial if cardholders use them properly.