The best way to help underachieving pupils is to have compulsory after school activities which they must attend. This way they will become more involved in school and their grades will improve. To what extent do you agree?

The education process is unquestionably one of the most prevalent and worrying aspects in any society, and its management should be taken seriously. Of course, it is crucial to find an appropriate approach to underachieving students. However, I reckon that forcing them to attend some events would be unfair and useless. On the one hand, there are some benefits of involving this group of pupils in school life in order to help them to improve their grades. It is known that compulsory activities such as science competitions are used to be popular among students who receive excellent grades, so that underachieving children could spend more time with these pupils. Undoubtedly, the friendship between these two sides could motivate and help individuals with worth grades to develop their horizons and improve their knowledge. On the other hand, I agree that young people would not be satisfied with this education system, so they would make a lot of complaints in order to skip it. To begin with, children are more likely to be exhausted after a school day full of difficult subjects, rules and grammar, therefore it is almost impossible to teach them without having a break. For example, there are hundreds of scientific research which have already shown the importance of having a few pauses during the studying process. Moreover, pupils would not appreciate attending some events, which they do not really like. Indeed, most schools do not give an opportunity to choose a type of additional subject, therefore students should attend classes which are boring for them. As a consequence, they would not have the desire to study due to the fact that they were demotivated. To conclude, I believe that the disadvantages of having compulsory completely outweigh the relative advantages, therefore this option is not suitable for every student. Furthermore, nowadays there are a few better methods, which would definitely have a great impact on the individual's achievement.