Nowadays an increasing number of people change their careers during their work life period. What are the reasons behind this trend? Is it a generally positive or negative development?

An individual spends the majority of his life doing a job or business, however, in the contemporary era, there has been a trend of shifting from one career option to another among individuals. This essay will discuss the causes of this trend and the positive and negative aspects of it along with my opinion that it is a positive development. To commence with the first reason for changing careers by individuals, the majority of people are not satisfied with their career, it could be either in the context of income, personal growth or work atmosphere. Individuals feel uncontented working in a field which does not fulfil the marks of their expectations. Therefore, they change their job or business field hoping to get the satisfaction they want from the next career option. Moreover, another reason for shifting jobs is the habit of comparison and listening to other's advice. People sometimes feel jealous if their relatives or acquaintances earn more from them and then they tend to opt for the same career as them by listening to the advice from their family or close ones. As a result, they get trapped in a vicious cycle of migrating from one field to another. Moving further, this trend sometimes has negative consequences such as in order to find a satisfactory job, people waste a huge amount of time as they have no proper plan and then they cannot bear the risk of failure which comes with that. Thus, they do more harm to them than good. However, in the majority of cases, this trend proves to bring positive results as after changing their careers for a number of times, some people finally find the field which gives them a breakthrough. In some situations, the gut feeling of individuals does not let them settle for low and inspires them to strive and then thrive in the deserving field for them. Thus, these individuals feel proud of listening to their instinct. For example, the owner of KFC, a popular international food brand, found this career in his 80s after altering several careers while this shift proved to be a major success. Further, shifting careers can help individuals to get more exposure and be versatile as compared to the people who stick to only one job for their whole life, no matter how much they are unsatisfied. Consequently, shifting careers helps to broaden the professional horizon of adults. To conclude, migrating from one career field to another is basically due to the discontentment of individuals from the reality of their expectations and also due to the act of comparing themselves with others. However, in most cases, this trend proves to be beneficial as people can finally get into a successful field after failing many times in their previous careers provided they are strong enough to bear the failures. Further, this trend also increases the experience and versatility of individuals.