Nowadays an increasing number of people change their careers during their work life period. What are the reasons behind this trend? Is it a generally positive or negative development?

A career is an occupation undertaken for a significant period of a person’s life and with opportunities for progress. Although these days, there is a rising number of workers interchanging into other vocations during their labour phase. This is because most people found themselves in an occupation they lack passion for which is a positive trend as it will give rise to effective services to the community. To begin with, every human has a different calling and when that need is not met, they tend to be unsatisfied and not efficient in their place of work, most services rendered will be non-efficacious, and then, they will decide to switch to the profession of their dreams. The reason for this could be a lack of opportunity to study their course of interest because of no funds and sponsorship, of which their dream jobs are quite expensive, so they opt for the career which they could afford during that time, and get a job after schooling, then save up to swap to the vocation they always wanted in future. For example, in West Africa, the expenses for studying nursing and medicine discourage individuals that have a passion for the job, so most of them ended up studying what they don't like and some return back to school for that which they are interested in, thus increasing the trends of professional exchange. Furthermore, this is a positive trend because they will be effective at their place of work and carry out their task diligently. Since doing the work of interest brings satisfaction and fulfilment, thus one will be happy and put more effort to get every task done smoothly and productively, which is beneficial to society. For,example nursing a terminally ill patient, a bedridden patient and the elderly takes a lot of patience, understanding and perseverance, which a person who has no calling as a nurse can not carry out their care effectively. This is why they are some professionals maltreat their patients or are rude and arrogant because they lack these skills and are not passionate about their employment. In conclusion, many human beings found themselves working at jobs they don't like which gives rise to switching careers to achieve their dream occupation and this is beneficial to society since their services will be fruitful as they will be happy doing it. And also the government should support citizens financially to have the vocation they wished for.