In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past, do you think this is a positive or negative development.

In modern society, an increasing number of citizens choose to live on their own, which has become a norm in developed countries and changed the lives of many people. From my perspective, this trend is exerting both positive and negative influence in equal measure. On the one hand, there are a great many benefits for residents living independently. For one thing, without the restriction of family, they are able to spend more time and effort on their own things, such as careers and interests. For instance, a single person can immerse themselves in their work or study, thus making great achievements. Or they can invest more time and money in their hobbies, such as watching football games or playing video games. As a result, they would feel fulfilled and satisfied with their lives. For another, the cost of a one-person household is largely lower than that of families, which makes those people easily make ends meet. On the other hand, family plays a crucial role in our community, which cannot only allow us to help each other all the time but give us a sense of belonging. To begin with, single people usually feel isolated when they finish their work or study, because emotional exchange and connection among family members are irreplaceable by workload or interesting things. For example, senior citizens living alone would feel helpless if they were struck by acute illness, such as heart attack and stroke, thus causing unexpected consequences. Furthermore, the sense of loneliness may drive people to commit suicide or do something foolish, which therefore becomes a cause of many tragedies. In conclusion, living alone gain great popularity worldwide, which generates both beneficial and detrimental effects on individuals and our society as a whole.