Some people think that new houses should be built in the same style as the older houses in the local area. Others disagree and say local authorities should allow to people to build house in the style of their own choice.

Global urbanization has allowed families to settle in areas far from the clamour of busy urban zones. These people have every right to live in houses that suit their fancy. However, there are some who vouch for uniformity around neighbourhoods. In this essay, I will discuss both of the present points and draft my take on this subject. By all means, the decision of what a home should look like is the sole prerogative of its owner alone. Because, the freedom of expression is a privilege for all who are fortunate enough to get a chance to own land. To that end, it would be considered oppression should authorities around the world plan to be involved in private citizen affairs such as regulating residential units and so on. Moreover, as time progress, new architectural innovations will be made to improve structures. Thus, residents should feel unrestricted to avail themselves of these advancements. Contrary to this, the believers of matching dwellings, justify their idea by making claims of maintaining equality and aesthetics. To elaborate, according to them, having units of similar appearance in a residential area would eliminate the factor of being high or low in status. Additionally, they also state that, having identical-looking exteriors will enhance the appeal of the suburb in question, ergo, increasing the value of properties in that premise. To conclude, according to my opinion, the belief that a client should confine their appointed architect to the guidelines enforced by a government is both outlandish and ridiculous to its core.