In the number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, there is a widespread divergence of opinions over the concept of spending a large amount of money on constructing super-fast trains. People have different ideas about the development. While someone doubts the drawbacks of it, I believe the existing public transports are as important as new railway lines construction. On the one hand, there is no doubt that existing public transportations need to be improved. They are the lifeline of a country that connects every corner of it. The best thing about public transport is that it is affordable and convenient. Improving the frequency and efficiency of buses and trains can reduce the use of private vehicles and reduce traffic congestion and carbon emissions and improve air quality. On the other hand, improving the existing roads and railway lines alone will not help. It is important to introduce new technology to the system. High-speed trains are one of the new technology which can bring traditional public transportation to a new level. Compare to buses and trains, they can reduce travel time considerably and give a big boost to trade and tourism. Of course, these very fast trains will require a large initial investment and cost a huge amount of budget to construct, but the return on it will also be pretty high. To sum up, high-speed railway systems are the need of the hour, and fully support spending money on them. However, the benefits which bring from it make the future absolutely bright. Plus, it is equally important to improve existing public transportation because a well-established network of roads and trains is the backbone of any economy.