In many cities, problems related to overpopulation are becoming more common. Some governments are now encouraging businesses and individuals to move out of cities to rural areas. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, people tend to move to the outskirts of the cities which is required by the government in order to preclude overpopulation. I opine that, the advantages of this tendency such as prevention from further pollution and unemployment surpass the drawbacks of it which will be discussed in the following paragraphs. One of the primary benefits of this growing trend among cities is the reduction of pollution. The key reason for pollution is individuals with their overloaded traffic. As their number will decline shifting to the rural areas of the country, the damage they caused for their inhabited centres will diminish as well. To give an example, Brazil moved its capital city from Rio de Janeiro to Brasilia to hinder its overcrowding and environmental damage from getting worse. Furthermore, it is believed that, the enhancing direction to the countryside will overcome the top-tier issue facing the economy as a whole: unemployment. The increasing number of citizens in only one place across the whole country makes it challenging for them to go and find a job in such a competitive labour market, therefore, contributing to the lower living standards of the state. For instance, the unemployment rate in Turkey rises non-stop due to the excessive population in Istanbul. Despite the upsides, the demerits of this trend are also worth considering. The main downhill is the adversity in the adaption process of moved residents. Leaving everything they established such as housing, decent jobs, and friends and settling in a completely different environment than they were accommodated before are quite significant alternations in one’s life which are hard to manage. This change in their settlement will make their life tougher by trying to find a new job, adapting new lifestyle in the countryside and lack of technological advancements. Statistics show that, only a small fraction of people who moved to agricultural regions are most likely to stay and continue to live a life there. The rest come back to their previous residences and work. To sum up, though there are certain disadvantages of the tendency towards rural parts, it is evident that, the positive aspects of doing so, such as decreased rate of joblessness and hazardous contamination outweigh them.