Some companies have uniforms for their staff which must be worn at all times. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

Some corporations have a dress code for all employees which should be worn during their working hours. The demerits are that it gives an identity to workers and it reduces differences of superiority among employees whereas the demerits are that employees have to spend extra money to buy such dresses and some staff do not like the dress code culture. The first benefit is that it gives an identity to the company. In other words, people can easily find out that the person works in a specific company. Further, it would reduce the difference among employees based on superiority. This is because everyone would be in the same outfit, and as a result, everyone would be judged only upon their work. For example, Infosys follows the dress culture to reduce the differences among employees thus they have become one of the top organisations to work. On the other hand, employees have to spend an extra amount to buy dresses. That is to say, they would have to buy those dresses over and above their casual clothes which might lead to disagreement among them. Moreover, a few staff members might not like wearing dresses. This is because many people do not want to wear dresses which might lead to protests among them. For instance, many companies have stopped the dress code since their workers were unhappy with it. In conclusion, some companies have dress codes for their staff. The benefits are it gives an identity to them and it would reduce the superiority complex among workers whereas the demerits are some have to spend money over and above their casual clothes and a few employees might dislike the dress code.