Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In recent times, children tend to devote prolonged hours to their smartphones everyday. In my perspective, there are several factors which result in this phenomenon and the act of abusing smartphones in children may develop negative impacts in the long term. Firstly, as social media are spreading rapidly as well as those entertainment platforms are being upgraded to be more ubiquitous to the public, numerous apps with attractive designs have been invented to serve human’s entertaining purposes. As a consequence, children can simply get access to the digital environment as well as online games, where they are likely to be impressed by the appealing designs of these platforms, hence they will have higher probability of being addicted to smartphones or more specifically being indulge in playing games. Moreover, the lack of parental supervision may also be the primary factor. As children are not aware of curbing their playing times, as well as their cognition about the harm of misusing smartphones, they will continue their progress on the phones if parental interruption is not involved. This phenomenon will spark severe consequences on children in several aspects. Firstly, abusing smartphones is hazardous to their eyesight as they are exposed to harmful rays derived from the phone screen, in the long term it even leads to some detrimental disease not only related to optic health but also their entire body. Furthermore, misusing smartphones will hinder children from taking part in social activities or socializing with their loved ones and friends. Thus they will have a higher probability of sustaining from depression or mental issues as a result of the lack of interacting with the outer environment. In conclusion, this phenomenon is getting more and more severe, with many factors which contribute to this situation. Considering those aforementioned consequences, some actions should be taken to alleviate the problems.