In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Nowadays one of the noticeable problems is traffic congestion. To tackle this issue, there is an idea expressing imposing a heavy tax on private car ownership by the government would be the solution. This essay will discuss some benefits and drawbacks of such a measure. One of the benefits arises from this approach is that enhances the quality of public transportation which leads to individuals utilizing more. Consequently, it prevents air pollution because of less use of private cars and people can enjoy a fresh atmosphere which decreases some diseases such as asthma and lung cancer due to exhaust and toxic gases, CO2, NO2, and SO2. Furthermore, by spending money to improve the quality of public transport they actually solve the notable reason for refusing to use public transportation. For example, mankind prefers to feel safe and time-reserving like their own car and by increasing the quality of transportation, they tend to use them as well. Nations, however, tend to utilize well-designed and convenient buses and trains. High taxes would generate more money to make necessary changes. Nevertheless, there are two paramount drawbacks to this solution. Firstly, there would be a heavy burden on car drivers owing to the amount of taxes is already significant. This means people with low financial wealth can not afford to pay taxes and refuse to use it while it is their daily usage. Secondly, through this kind of "price discrimination" policy, wealthy folk may ignore this law and prefer to pay money instead of avoiding using an automobile. To conclude, this solution is worth considering to address the traffic issue which provides some advantages, for instance, better quality of transportation and reduced polluted air and disadvantages, take the example of.