There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

During the last decade, teenagers have been struggling to reach their goals in the academic field because of the huge pressure that is done by society. Many people argue that subjects like physical education and cookery should be deleted from the school syllabus. In this essay, I will delve into this viewpoint and provide my personal opinion about this matter. First and foremost, every human being has to learn how to move their body in order to stay healthy. As a matter of fact, skills like coordination and stability are always taught during childhood because in this phase human brain has a better capacity to learn them. For example, a prominent scientist once stated that children that done more hours of physical education, have less physical pathology during their adult ages. It thus clearly demonstrates that non-academic subjects like physical education are fundamental for people. In addition, nutrition is one of the most important factors of our life. The capacity of choose good ingredients to create a good diet is key to avoid problems like overweight and obesity. Nevertheless, according to a recent article published by the Economist knowing how to cook ingredients is more important that choosing the good quality. For this reason, cookery is another subject that should not be excluded from the school syllabus. In conclusion, important skills like managing how to cook and how to move in a proper way could not be considered as secondary because of their importance for our heath. On the contrary, I believe that public institutions like the government should enhance the quality and quantity of hours of these subjects in order to prevent people from illness.