ome people think that developed countries have a higher responsibility to combat climate change than developing countries. Others believe that all countries should have the same responsibilities towards protecting the environment.

During the last decade, climate change has become a great problem in our society influencing people with a lot of preoccupations. Many believe that the resolution of this phenomenon has to be attributed to developed countries. Instead, others are firmly convinced that the entire world population has the same responsibility to find a solution to this setback. In the following essay, I will delve into these two viewpoints and illustrate my personal opinion about this issue. On the one hand, developed countries were the first who have married the movement of capitalism. As a matter of fact, this current leads to consumerism with the result of an increase in pollution. For instance, according to a recent article in the Economist, since the beginning of the era of,capitalism the production of CO2 has increased as steeply as never before. It is thus clearly shown that a huge responsibility for climate change derives from this movement. On the other hand, developing countries are acting in the same way, making the same mistakes. Since they started to have better economic conditions, they pushed their production strongly. For example, countries like China and Thailand have become the biggest producers of plastic around the world. For this reason, they have to be involved in the resolution of these issues. In conclusion, climate change started a long time ago with the advent of consumerism in developed countries. Nevertheless, nowadays developing countries seem to follow the same way. In my opinion, the only way to stop this problem is to adopt another philosophy that respects the environment and to do it all together as a modern united society.