Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extent do you agree?

It is a well-documented thought that investment on roads and motorways is more significant than on public transport systems. While using more budgets on the former can be beneficial, I would contend that spending money on the latter also has its paramount importance. On the one hand, it is understandable why some hold the view that more financial support should be made on the development of roads and motorways. The key rationale is to reduce the risk of accidents, especially during rush hour. It is apparent that roads networks or ways for motorbikes are regularly filled up with plenty of riders and passengers. If the aforementioned places are not offered appropriate reparation or renovation, it is likely that unwanted incidents may occur more easily. Another worth-noting point is better roads and motorways quality may address traffic congestion in many densely populated cities. This can be reasoned by the fact that the obstacles or holes on the surface of the roads will be removed and more traffic lights may be erected when more money is poured into making innovation on roads networks. On the other hand, investing in public transport systems is also advantageous because of some following reasons. First and foremost, public transports will probably be more widely used. It is undeniable that increasing the usage on public transports is now one of the top remedies to tackle global warming. The implication of this is the improvement of this system may bring great assistance for the near future as more and more residents will opt for this means of transportation. Another essential point to consider is that public transports usually carry many individuals, for instance, electric trains in Japan are able to contain more than a thousand people. In order to ward off unexpected accidents that threaten so many lives, this public system truly deserves more support in finance. These are the powerful testaments to how essential investment made on public transportation is. In conclusion, although financially assisting roads networks and motorways is not without their compelling arguments, I would opine that it is also significant to invest more on public transport systems.