Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others,however believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

Owing to rampant population growth there are a significant amount of traffic jams in every nook and corner. It is believed that strict punishments are the best option to mitigate traffic accidents, while others hold the view that there are other ways to do this. I would argue that there should be stringent laws, while the state should spend more money on building the infrastructure of the country. This essay will discuss both the given views and give my opinion before a logical conclusion is drawn. On the one hand, there should be strict punishments. If there are stringent legislations people will refrain from misbehaviours on roads. For example, it can be seen that 56% of fallen in road accidents in the USA, because of their strict punishments. Hence, drive safety can be increased by giving strict punishments. On the other hand, there are other ways to mitigate road accidents, namely building good infrastructure and conducting road safety classes. Firstly, the government should build roads and other facilities to curb traffic jams. Secondly, if there are classes that are learning roadway signs and safety it will definitely influence people's lives. For instance, a study reveals that approximately 87% of individuals have participated in this kind of class and they are satisfied with it. Therefore, it is clear that there are other ways to alleviate this phenomenon. To conclude, there is a view that strict punishments can alleviate road hazards, while there is another view that there are other ways to mitigate this. In my opinion both these views should be imposed in Tamdem, while It is recommended that the government should conduct public awareness programmes to curb this pressing issue and also people are under an obligation to learn road rules properly and obtain them correctly.