Some people believe that governments should make investment in building public libraries in every town, while others think it is a waste of money because we have access to information via Internet. Discuss and give your opinion.

There is a great chunk of discussion on the necessity of the government’s spending on library construction. Although it seems convincing to some extent that some people assume erecting a communal library is money -wasting, I tend to believe in the significance it brings to a community. On the one hand, it is understandable why the authority should not squander their capital budget on library construction. Firstly, there is a huge amount of money for construction, buying materials, and maintenance would be taken to do. As a result, it is of great concern to impoverished countries that rather allocate public funds to deal with critical issues such as famine and national debts. Secondly, this investment is not worthwhile as most information including daily updates on current affairs is readily available and complimentary on the Internet. Therefore, this spending would be redundant. On the other hand, there are several reasons why pouring money into erecting libraries is necessary for social development. The first rationale is that having free access to academic sources and materials offered by these places would help individuals save money. Thus, it might be valuable to people living on a limited budget but having a high demand for research and reference. Another reason to be mentioned is that this investment also indirectly brings profits to the government by increasing higher literacy level workforce. This happens because thanks to these free and quiet reading places, reading culture would be encouraged among the public, which fosters social and economic progress. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that investing in constructing libraries is a wise decision, despite the perception that it is a waste of money.