Some people spend most of their lives living close to where they were born. What might be the reasons for this? What are the advantages and disadvantages?

It is undeniable that some people still prefer to live in the area where they were born and raised even though they have the resources and power to immigrate to other countries. This essay will describe both the benefits and drawbacks of this trend, including reasonable reasons. To begin with, there are various reasons to choose to stay in the areas where they were born. One of many reasons is to get emotional support from family members or close communities. In other words, the presence of a group of people who can rely on is the big merit of living in a hometown. The recent research on depression among students in college is well-attested that students who live close to their hometown experienced less mental stress because they were less isolated and had more opportunities to talk about their personal issues. On the other hand, spending an entire lifetime in a limited region can make people hard to understand other cultures. Needless to say, a lot of experience with various people is helpful in recognizing other cultures and respecting them. Therefore, living in your hometown most of the time can bring negative results such as an exclusive attitude toward other cultures. To put it in a nutshell, it can be seen that many people want to continue living in the same area because they highly value mental support from their close ones. However, it is clear that a narrow perspective is almost unavoidable due to less experience in another region