The personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organisations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the Use of social media and browsers has increased our private information on the internet and companies like Facebook and Twitter have more control over them. I personally believe that it has more disadvantages than the advantages. Everything has two sides. On one side, Large companies use this information to improve search and preference. For example, If we search for a shot floral dress then using that information will give us better choices than before. The information that we used to train our model can give us better results than the traditional methods. Collective data can be used to produce better marketing models and increase profit of the businesses On the other side, As large data are collected about ourselves. We are not sure what data is stored how and where this information is being used. Additionally, this information is sold without our consent and that leads to higher spam. Furthermore, we fall prey to advertisements, For instance, when I searched for a purse on the Internet, I got all the ads on purses even though I didn't want to spend money on them. I end up spending money. To conclude, Everything has pros and cons. As I mentioned above, the processing of our information is in a blind spot. So I think it's not a good thing to have private information over the Internet. I would suggest that if the use of information is transparent then it will be good.