Topic: many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or disadvantages?

Nowadays, people have the mindset that working longer hours translates to having a higher chance at a raise or a promotion and hence struggle much more than the required time. This situation has more disastrous effects than one can see on the surface. In every employment contract, the number of hours the employee is expected to work is mentioned and agreed to by both the employee and the employer, which is usually forty to forty-five hours per week. The average working professional in India works until two or three in the morning at a nine-to-five job. The lack of strict working hours translates into the individual not having any time for self-development and thus less happiness. Not only does the person forget about the things they love and enjoy, but their stress levels can be alarmingly high harming their mental and physical health. The general notion is that the more hardworking an individual is, the greater the chance of promotion. This is a myth that needs to be broken. Promotions and greater responsibilities are entrusted to those who are efficient at networking and communicating with their peers and bosses rather than those who are couped up at their laptops all day. For example, person A may be overworking herself to the point of fatigue but her work would go unrecognised if she does not communicate her achievements and work hours to her managers. Companies must have a strict lights-out policy in order to protect their employees from the ill effects of over-working while maintaining the productivity of the organisation. Furthermore, there have been many studies that prove that when workers are given enough breaks and leisure time, they are in fact more productive than otherwise.Many institutions are now considering a four-day workweek or flexible working opportunity which may impact the employees positively thus increasing their profits and revenue. In conclusion, having a healthy work -life balance is a prerequisite to success and health. Though counterintuitive, when companies provide an environment where an employee can focus on themselves along with the work, productivity is bound to increase. Hence people working for extended hours with little to no time for themselves have more cons than pros.