Some people think that university students should study wthatever they like. Others blieve that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these view and give your own opinion.

In the present day, some individuals believe that university students should study subjects that they want to learn, whereas other people are of the opinion that they ought to only engage in studying the field of science or technology, which is expected to improve our society in the future. This essay will discuss both viewpoints and personally, I support the former opinion because I consider that subjects related to science and technology are not the only things supporting our economy. On the one hand, it is certainly true that science and technology have improved our quality of life in recent decades. For example, technology has allowed means of communication to evolve with modernization. Half a century ago, people kept in touch with someone by using letters, but in modern times, people can communicate with smartphones, benefiting from the development of the Internet. Therefore, some people anticipate that if the majority of young people studied technology, they would provide a significant development for our society in the future. On the other hand, there is the opinion that university students should study their preferred subjects. First of all, as individuals have strengths and weaknesses in their abilities, they should focus on subjects that they are good at rather than be compelled to study fields in which they are not interested. Additionally, subjects that seem unpractical are also necessary because, for instance, philosophy or ethics help us think about how to use technology properly. In conclusion, I would say that although the field of technology or science has enhanced our lives, students should study a variety of subjects. I believe that not only technology or science but also a tremendous variety of disciplines contributed to the development of our societies.