In some cultures,children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvages of giving children this message?

All parents who care about their children, will try their hardest to help their children reach their dreams and have a great future ahead of them. Once their children are born, the kids ' future becomes their primary goal and the main reason they exist. So, there is no wonder they sometimes say things to their kids to motivate them that has no proof. In fact, sometimes they might lie for the sake of the children. One of the most controversial lies is that they can reach whatever they desire if they try hard enough. Although this is not a fact and might harm the children in a way, there are also a few benefits to this saying. First of all, lies are not a good tool for parents to teach their children anything. As a matter of fact, lies are always hurtful and distructive and even if it does not seem so at first, it will come back to haunt the lier eventually. So, the fact that parents use lies to motivate their children will hurt the kids in the future and cause them trust issues or even works in the opposite way and causes a lack of motivation in the kids. Also, if parents only insist on hardwork and not other necessary aspects of every child's life, they might grow up depending only on their hard-working trait and become a one -dimensional person which is a disaster in todays society. On the other hand, there are some benefits to this particular lie that we cannot omit. Hard-work has always been considered as one of the best qualities one could achieve. Therefore, many parents would want their children to become hard-working in exchange for a small lie. Furthermore, the idea of one being able to achieve literally anything in his life, in itself, is a great source of motivation and we've seen so many great people throughout the history with only their high hopes and hard-work to have had big success in their jobs and achieved their dreams. To conclude, as of any ethical question, there are some benefits and also some negative points to lying to our children and telling them that they can achieve anything if they want and try, is one of those lies. Indeed, this could lead them to disappointment in the future and make them one -dimensional. However, it could also make them want to try hard and lead them to greatness. Whether or not to use this lie to the advantage of your kids is of great importance and one cannot easily answer that question. Best parents always consider both the upsides and the downsides to this question and decide wisely.