Over the last few years, school boards have increasingly utilized standardized tests to measure their students’ performance. Many people believe these tests do not accurately reflect most students’ academic abilities and should therefore be stopped. Do you agree with this belief? What are some other ways students can be assessed for achievement?

Many people believe that using standardized examinations do not precisely mirror most students’ academic abilities and should therefore be revoked with other methods to evaluate their achievement. This state of affairs can be attributed to several factors and will be displayed in this essay. First of all, standardized tests have limitations in capturing their diverse strengths and talents with different learning styles or abilities, for example in a student who has difficulty in answering a multiple choice question on math or science can be an excellent writer so by emphasizing technique and math, standardized tests underestimate the value of instruction in areas such as art, history, and electives. In addition, schools with less focus on grades encourage their healthy growth than ones with standardized tests, which can create their undue stress and anxiety, leading to negative impact on their mental health and well-being. This approach is common in some progressive European countries like Finland where schools strive to foster a positive learning environment and their students feel comfortable when making mistakes and developing a passion for lifelong learning. As a result, Finland is consistently ranked as one of the strongest school systems in the world. Based on the negative effects mentioned above, it would be great if we used other modes of assessment to reduce pressure on students in the ways that developed countries in Europe are applying today such as portfolio-based assessment and game-based assessment. To start with this first form - portfolio-based review is an effective means of presenting the visual content of work that is often required for entry into journalism or art schools. This can be a great way to present projects and reports as they fully demonstrate a candidate's abilities that have been nurtured through their studies. Another design is a game-based assessment which computer game also collects data points and clearly outlines each player's progress so that the candidate is interactive, fun, and reveals the best hidden qualities such as creativity, teamwork and perseverance that a standardized test cannot show. In conclusion, with the clear arguments above, I firmly state that there are many more effective ways of assessing students’ ability than the standardized tests which are outdated and put a lot of pressure on students.