Education of young people is highly prioritized in many countries. However, educating adults who cannot write or read is even more important and governments should spend more money on this. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Most governments spend much to educate the young. But despite this effort, there are often adults in each country who remain illiterate. Thus, some believe that educating these people should be an even bigger priority, prompting a suggestion that more money should be spent on them. In my view, while governments should help uneducated adults, they should not be considered the priority. To begin with, the percentage of young people in each country is significantly greater than the percentage of illiterate adults. So it makes more economic sense to continue spending more for the youth so the country can have higher returns. The youth are the future laborers, entrepreneurs, and leaders, so it is just right to spend on them. The uneducated adults, however, are the minority. So it is unwise to give them a much higher budget. Next, although these adults might not have wanted to become illiterate, they still chose to stay that way instead of finding ways to learn how to read and write. On the contrary, young people have not made that choice. So the possibility of them becoming the best version of themselves is there, making them a better investment. Now, it is often the case that iliterate adults are those doing menial jobs or possibly living a life of crime. So it makes sense for the government to help so they can become more productive members of society. Though they should be given attention, these adults should not be prioritized nor receive more funding than the youth. In conclusion, young people have more potential, so it would be foolish for a country to focus on a few uneducated adults. Therefore, governments should still find ways to help such adults, but never at the expense of the next generation.