Topic: Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

People hold conflicting views about whether authorities should allocate a part of the national budget to restore several languages on the verge of disappearance or not. While a large number of people believe that it is necessary, I would argue that language has not only a communication value but also spiritual factors. On the one hand, there are several reasons why some advocates suppose it is unnecessary to keep an extinct language. Firstly, minority languages have not been used widely in daily life. If the authorities intend to restore it, an immense budget is allocated to encourage learners, however there is no guarantee that the language would be preserved permanently. Furthermore, it is likely better to have a national language, which could destroy barriers in communication amongst inhabitants. On the other hand, I firmly hold the view that language reflects the cultural and customs value of a community. Each nation has a different culture and tradition, which creates special characteristics, and language is a method to convey their customs to others. Moreover, possessing a own language, it could foster patriotism and community cohesion. The Chinese community is such an example. Although they have immigrated to the US for a long time, they strive to keep their mother language and teach their descendants to speak at home instead of English. Thanks to it, their culture and tradition is not blended to other countries. In conclusion, minority languages deserve to preserve and develop because they bring the spiritual value of the specific community.