In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Many developed countries give an opportunity for young people who can experience 1 year gap before enjoy their student life. Seem this chance sounds good, however there are pros and cons. In this article, we will discuss about above interesting idea. There are 3 positive aspects. Firstly, before starting a new environment in university, students can have a recharge time such as traveling locally or internationally. Additionally, they can work part-time within a year to get familiar with real life situations which will remind them about the important skills or knowledge to be equipped during university life. Secondly, during this year, students can build up gradually their interest and accumulate their passion which is vital for their career orientation. Thirdly, a feeling of freedom is so important after many years of studying will empower them to take the next life milestone. Conversely, there are still side effects of this decision. For example, students will lose their learning momentum especially for someone who do not have asuitable plan for 365 days before back to university. Moreover, students will waste this crystal time without consultation from their parents or educators. Finally, without planning carefully, students will not utilise this year for their career later. In conclusion, in this modern society, students are really given more choice to prepare their life, especially study life in university. The circle of learning, recharge, learning and recharge again is so important for everyone not only student because it can help them so much for the rest of their life. It is believed that this gap year with a lot of experience will be valuable source for their career orientation as well as contribute as memorable time for their whole life.