These days, people work in more than one job, and often change career several times during their life. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, it is more common for people to take two jobs, and even many takes at least one change in their occupation path. This phenomenon provides some pros and cons, and this essay will look at those two sides and reach a conclusion. Let’s begin by looking at the disadvantages of changing the career so frequently, which is relevant to lower recruitment opportunities. Some employees do not highly evaluate the curriculum vitae and switch jobs too often since they might have some problems and bad rumours with their previous companies. That’s why the profile is at risk of elimination in the first round during the interview and then the employers struggle with finding new jobs. Secondly, Serving multiple professions at once can distract from performance productivity. By doing so, the time occupied for work will overwhelm that of family and personal life. Recent research, for example, shows that the number of multitasking youngsters who suffer from depression in Japan witnessed a sharp increase because they can not handle the work-life balance. Turning to the other side of the argument, one of the reasons for change is that people want to start afresh. Mostly, workers are so fed up with the nine-to-five jobs that they wish to escape from the hamster wheel. The phenomenon becomes noticeable the most for desk workers when they are snowed under paperwork over and over again. Therefore, switching to a new career path is also a way to stimulate their creativity and motivation. Another advantage is that working for a side business enables people to have extra income. Residents from vibrant and cosmopolitan cities tend to do it as more than 1 job provides them with better financial status to cope with a higher cost of living. In conclusion, individuals need to weigh up the pros of having an extra salary, triggering inspiration and even the cons. Although a side job may result in some mental disorders and personal images, I do believe that its benefits eventually outweigh any negatives.