Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, a group of undergraduate students are considering exploring additional fields in addition to their main subjects, while others consider that students who studying in college should devote their time to their main subjects as much as possible. There are some pros and cons brought by these aforementioned two different learning ways. In my perspective, the benefits of learning extra subjects are surpassing the downsides. Firstly, there is a commonly held belief that people should learn more things instead of only being experts in a specific subject. In order to raise their competitiveness, it is important for all the students to have multiple skills. For instance, when two students apply for the same job, companies often prefer candidates with diverse skills, as they can be utilized in various capacities. However, this way might cause a negative outcome that students do not have enough time to facilitate many things, leading them to fail both subjects, the main subject and the additional subjects. Regarding concentrating on the main subject, the main upside brought by this learning way is that students can be experts in a specific area. College students who choose to spend their whole time in one subject have sufficient time to study and gain a deep insight into the subject. Hence, they are more likely to become an expert, invent new things, and find significant things. However, if they were not becoming an expert, they could have mere chances to be hired. In summation, both learning ways bring benefits and drawbacks. In addition, university students should spend their time analysing the industry they would likely participate in in the future, and also recognize their own characters and interests. By doing so, it can be rationally decided which learning way is suitable for them. In a nutshell, while I support that learners in university should learn more than one subject, it is still important for them to identify themselves and choose their own ways.