It is the job of governments and companies is to deal with the huge environmental problems which we face. Individuals on their own can do little or nothing. What is your opinion about this statement?

In recent decades, environmental issues have become the topic of numerous debates. In this regard, many people hold the view that it is the sole responsibility of governments and huge enterprises to take steps in order to alleviate environmental problems and people's conduct has either little or nothing impact on the environment. In my opinion, although the main burden of adopting preventive measures is on the states' shoulders, residents of the world could play their own significant role in tackling such problems. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I will explain my point of view with many reasons and practical examples. To begin with, the fact that governments, due to having mandatory resources as well as social power, could serve a critical role in reducing environmental problems cannot go unnoticed. They have enough measures as a budget to invest in spreading environmentally friendly programmes in order to preserve nature. For instance, The UK's government in 2008, decided to introduce new policies to forbid logging operations in dense forests, which means that the ecosystem could be kept in balance in protected areas. Furthermore, huge industries and company owners have a significant role in stopping this uncontrolled trend by implementing green policies and using more sustainable sources of energy. Apart from that, the latest statistics have demonstrated that nearly 65% of air pollution and 75% of soil erosion is because of the unlimited activities of huge industries and power stations such as emitting greenhouse gasses and dumping waste pollution into the soil and water. However, it should be noted that individuals, as a part of societies, have their own responsibilities to preserve their habitat. Not only should they reduce the consumption of traditional sources of energy which have more environmental impact, but also they can contribute to nationwide campaigns to make the public informed about the potential dangers facing current and next-generation residents of the globe. Moreover, they could avoid buying products made by using certain endangered species, particularly some cosmetic products and clothing items, if they are intended to preserve rare species in the wild. For example, many recent researches proved that millions of animals are exploited and die at the cost of producing new flashy clothing items and luxurious accessories. To sum up, as far as environmental issues are concerned, despite the fact that people should make a contribution to conservating programmes and observe their own actions more carefully, it is more dependent on authorities and international companies to stop this trend from happening since such issues require joint actions at an international level in conjunction with huge investments and long-term strategies.