Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree whit this statement?

With each passing year, technology is advancing, and with the advancement of technology, more and more people from around the world are coming in contact with each other. This regular connection requires them to communicate in a common language understood by both parties. Therefore, these days a single language is predominantly used and that is English. Because of this, the regional languages are becoming extinct as youngsters are taught a common language in school so as to compete with the world. And few people are of the viewpoint, that with less number of languages, life will be easier. I totally agree with this statement and the agreement will be discussed in the upcoming paragraphs. This is an era of technology and computers and due to their recent developments, most people are connected to each other all day through technology whether it be mobile phones or computers. In order to get connected to the entire world, the basic requirement is the same language to be used for communication, which these days is English. English is spoken and understood by seventy per cent of the world's population whereas the native English-speaking population is only thirty per cent. It is because of the simplicity and ease to learn this language, that it has gained such popularity and is widely accepted by the majority of the countries. Moreover, it is being taught to children from their childhood so that they can communicate with the entire world fluently without any hurdles. People are of the view, that a single language across the globe will make life easier. This is totally true as these days jobs, studies, business everything is global. For instance, if a business has to be expanded to many countries, a person has to learn all their basic language in order to operate. This involves extra cost and effort. However, if there is a single language used across the globe, then this cost and effort could be saved and businesses would not be reluctant to expand in areas where there is a language barrier. However, the use of a single language will certainly harm the cultural importance of regional languages, but the advantages of using a single language outweigh its disadvantages. In conclusion, with single language use, businesses, jobs, and studies all will benefit. However, there is a loss of cultural significance of the regional languages. In spite of this fact, using a single language across the globe will certainly make life much easier and will help in the growth and development of countries globally.