Many people argue that in order to improve educational quality, high school students are encouraged to make comments or even criticism of their teachers. Others think it will lead to a loss of respect and discipline in the classroom. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There have been numerous debatable arguments about whether high school learners should be spurred to make comments or even criticize their educators with the aim of improving educational quality or not. While there are some advocates of the latter idea because of educators’ loss of motivation, I believe that it is better for students to give their own points of view, and even judge their teachers because teachers’ strengths and weaknesses can be identified. On the one hand, the option to prevent students from expressing opinions and evaluating their teachers is reasonable to some extent because it might create a sense of disrespect and discipline. Given the fact that high school students are generally immature, inexperienced and impulsive; thereby, they are more likely to give emotional feedback, which can trigger a breakdown in student-teacher relationships. As a consequence, the lessons are easily interrupted and cause chaos in the class, which will reduce the learning quality of the lectures. On the other hand, I believe that an acceptance for students to give their own viewpoints and evaluate their schoolteachers is beneficial because teachers’ strengths and weaknesses can be identified. When educators receive honest feedback from their students, they can easily realize whether their lectures and pedagogical skills go well or not; therefore, they can learn from that feedback to improve their teaching methodology to suit students ’ needs. To illustrate, the PISA English Center has a weekly report form for students to give their notion on their teachers or other things related to their studies in order to find a suitable approach to help students achieve their targets. In conclusion, while some maintain that a freely discussed learning environment should not be spurred owing to schoolteachers’ loss of motivation, I am more convinced that this kind of class model should be developed in the foreseeable future because educators can identify their own strengths and weaknesses, which help them have a better performance in later lectures.