Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects at university in many countries. Why is this? What effects does this have on society?

In recent years, it has been reported that the number of college students enrolled in science courses decreased over time. There are several causes why this is the case as well as potential consequences for the community. To begin with, the primary reason that diverts scholar’s attention is that there are various interesting careers these days. In the past, careers related to scientific fields offered numerous income opportunities when compared to other jobs, resulting in the influx of science learners to many institutions. However, there are other jobs which offer a large earning rate to their employees such as business or movie production fields in present days. Moreover, due to the difficulty of understanding scientific theory which requires large amounts of time to learn, many individuals tend to apply to other qualifications which may use creativity or critical thinking skills instead. As a result, there will be various drawbacks to different nations in the future. Lack of science proficiency in individuals may lead to lower innovation as there could be less scientific research which could be beneficial for the country’s development. A good example of this is medicine research, which could help numerous people from serious diseases or viruses. If there is a spread of the virus as well as COVID-19 in the future but there are fewer scientists, the vaccines for curing patients infected virus will be slowly developed, leading to a higher death rate than in the past. Furthermore, economic impact is another consequence of this trend, particularly the countries that rely on technological advancement as they may lose competitive edge in the global arena. For example, a lack of fresh ideas from engineers in Germany may cause the country to lose the competition with China which creates lots of innovation such as electrical vehicles in the modern world. In conclusion, it is clear that the education trend has changed these days. There are many undoubted reasons why students consider attending other fields instead of science as they prefer utilizing critical thinking or creative skills. Because of this issue, there could be a lack of scientific research which can impact to country, especially the economic and healthcare sectors as such research is beneficial for various people.